The Robinson grandparents

My mammys mam and dad.  The one legged, shoemaker Grandad and his wife.

Edward Robinson Birth 1892 in Glasgow, Lanarkshire Death 01 Apr 1962 in Edinburgh St Andrew, Midlothian, Scotland and Mary Agnes Evelyn Muir Birth 31 Jan 1894 in 16 East Preston Street, Edinburgh Death 02 Jun 1959 in Ayr

L to R, cousin Edward (Bettes boy), my Mum, Gran and Granddad, Edward and Evelyn Robinson

Image

Gran – Evelyn Robinson, with one of Evas children in Pennywell Road

Image

L to R, my Mum, Gran and Granddad, Evelyn and Edward Robinson

Image

Edward and Evelyn Robinson

Image

My Mum, Gran and Edward, along with Grace, from Sri Lanka, one of many students who lodged with my Gran in Pennywell.

Image

Not grandparents at all, these are my great grandparents, on my mother’s mother’s side, the Muirs. Another family mystery to be solved there, what with my Gran being the black sheep of the family, and what happened to the considerable wealth her mother acquired in property and cobblers shops. As well as Evelyn, my Gran, there were two sons, Andrew and George. George died before my time, but I remember visiting my Uncle Andrew at Greenleas old peoples home, as a boy. My Mum and I were the only people at his funeral in the early eighties.

Image

Here’s one of my Gran, Evelyn Robinson, in her nursing class. She trained as a nurse during WWII.

Image

On the back of this picture it says “Granny” and “Mum” in my Mums handwriting. So I’m assuming it is my Great-Grandmother on the Robinson side. Which would make it;

Catherine HEALY (RIN: -12813098), daughter of James HEALY and Catherine MADDEN , was born 12 October 1869 in Glasgow. She died 31 October 1946 in 29 Panmure Place, Edinburgh, Scotland.

Image

This formidable woman is a bit of a mystery, as only the words “Daddys Sister”. However, age, and circumstance would seem to indicate that it’s one of my Great Grandfathers sisters, as yet unidentified.

30cy6tc

Leave a Reply

