Uncle George and the lost Yorkshire cousin

George and Avril Robinson letters

My Uncle George was George Edward Muir ROBINSON, son of Edward Albert ROBINSON and Mary Agnes Evelyn MUIR , was born 02 September 1920 in 15 East Arthur Place, Edinburgh. He married MARY 1953. He died abt. 1966 in Yorkshire County, England, United Kingdom. He was the one that the Germans blew up on board ship during WWII while he working in the boiler room.

He was so badly burnt he spent several years in hospital, before turning to the drink and dying in a hostel in Yorkshire. But not before he had an ill fated marriage, which produced one daughter, Avril.

Here’s a letter he wrote to my Mum in 1964, and the lawyers letter from 1972, where Avril asks for her inheritance. Notes in italics are mine.

Posted Image

Dear Grace + Alex,

Thank you for your letter it was very nice to hear from you again. Congrats on your new house. I am pleased you are going up in the world. You must remember you and ALex are doing it yourself. Betty (Elizabeth Evelyn ROBINSON, daughter of Edward Albert ROBINSON and Mary Agnes Evelyn MUIR , was born 1924 in Leith, Midlothian, Scotland. She died 29 January 1996 in Edinburgh.) is doing well, grant you, but remember she got a golden start.

I am glad that everybody is doing well especially Edward (Bettys son, Edward Dudley Wiltshire Birth 1947 in Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland Death 2007 in Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland), a degree would be a godsend to him. You don’t mention our William (brother, William Joseph Muir Robinson, Birth 12 DEC 1927 in 122 Bonnington Road, Leith Death 17 MAY 2005 in Edinburgh), how is he getting on? I lay 6-4 he is still tops, LSD (pounds, shillings and pence) and otherwise.

Posted Image

Well, luv, I am darn glad 63 has been and gone and went. I was off for about 3 months with my good hand. Stupid got it caught in a machine I was repairing and smashed it, then the darn thing got poisoned. However, bar for a scar we are back to normal, I also had a bad tummy for months which I blamed on the fags and booze. Now for the laugh, a friend of mine insisted it was my teeth which was causing it. So ———- I now have no teeth + bad guts. Now what else, oh! I had a smack up with Bloody Mary (1956 Poplar) and got done for a fiver + endorsed (I was as sober as judge, liar).

I got Avril (his daughter, my cousin Avril Robinson Birth Jul Aug Sep 1951 in Scunthorpe, Northhamptonshire, Lincolnshire ) a rig out for Xmas plus a type-writer, plus riding lessons plus an increase in

Posted Image

pocket money.

She is now as tall as me, very near, and is quite a little madam. Its getting darned awkward we never mention Mary when we meet, but its getting me down, do I give her my version or leave it as it is for the present. What she has been told I don’t know and I am scared to find out. By the way, Mary now has (don’t faint) 4 repeat 4 sons to the guy she is living with. Question? is this grounds for divorce or does it come under lease lend. I haven’t seen her for years but I am told she looks old as God.

I was going to come up for New Year but didn’t quite make it. However all being well I may run up at Easter Bank to see yu all.

Thanks a lot for writing
Love
Your B.B George

He didn’t. My Mum never saw him.

And here’s the lawyers letter.  We never heard from Avril again, either.

Posted Image

Leave a Reply

