Bangour Village Hospital

Bangour Hospital was where I went for many (many) eye operations when I was a wean, back in the sixties. It was in the back of beyond, which meant I only got to see my Mum and Dad once a week, when they took the bus in on a Saturday afternoon, when I got to see them for an hour. Although, my Dad was usually busy, and my Mum would sometimes be on shifts.  I was there on and off between the ages of 2 and 7. I remember white buildings, nice nurses and ice cream. So, apart from the pain and the temporary blindness, it was alright.

The original Bangour goes back to 1902 when the Edinburgh Lunancy Board purchased the 960 acre Bangour site, and by 1906 Bangour Village was offically opened by the Right Honourable Earl of Roseberry. Bangour General was built in 1939 to cope with wounded soldiers from the second world war. Originally built as prefabricated huts Bangour General was only meant to last 10 years, but it outlived it’s expectancy and eventually closed in 1990.

The site is derelict now, although George Clooney and Keira Knightley turned up in 2005 to film “The Jacket”. Here’s a then and now.

Then;
Posted Image

Now;
Posted Image

Leave a Reply

